AGM 2024 Guest Speaker: Denise Cloutier – June 2nd, 4:30pm EST

Title: Making it Home: Basic Needs & Creature Comforts for Women (Age 50+) Experiencing Housing Insecurity

Date & Time: June 2nd, 1800 (6pm) Newfoundland, 1730 (5:30pm) Atlantic, 1630 (4:30pm) Eastern, 15:30 Central, 14:30 Mountain, 13:30pm Pacific, for approximately one hour. Guest speaker and Q &A to last approximately 30-45 minutes. For ZOOM Meeting link, please request access by emailing: cuuwa.cuc@gmail.com .

Topic: In Dr. Cloutier’s presentation, she will share insights from her recent research with older women who have experienced housing insecurity, discussing the pathways that have led women to be precariously housed, their simple wishes and basic needs in support of their dignity and humanity, and priority recommendations for system improvements.  

Biosketch: Denise Cloutier, PhD is a Professor in the Department of Geography and a Research Fellow with the Institute on Aging and Lifelong Health at the University of Victoria. Her research focuses on healthy aging and on the broad range of health services and community-based care systems that support quality of life for older adults. Specifically, her research has engaged with rural residents, those who are socially isolated, living with dementia, and women experiencing housing insecurity and homelessness.

Denise S. Cloutier, (she/her), PhD, FCAHS, FGSA, Professor, Dept of Geography & Research Fellow, Institute of Aging and Lifelong Health, University of Victoria

Annual General Meeting to follow – please see AGM package here.